Advisory Committees

Science Oversight Committee

The Science Oversight Committee (SOC) provides program oversight on matters impacting science requirements, data delivery, and science user engagement. The OOI lead Principal Investigator chairs the committee.  Committee members include the principal investigators for the four Implementing Organizations (University of Washington, Oregon State University, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, and Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey). The National Science Foundation, Division of Ocean Sciences Program Officers and the Chair and Administrator of the Ocean Observatories Initiative Facility Board serve as ex officio members.

The SOC’s charter is available here.

Committee Members

Ocean Observatories Initiative Facilities Board

The National Science Foundation Ocean Observatories Initiative Facility Board (OOIFB) provides independent input and guidance regarding the management and operation of the OOI. The OOIFB serves as the prime scientific and technical conduit between the oceanographic community and NSF regarding OOI.

OOIFB Members