Advisory Committees

Ocean Observatories Initiative Facilities Board

The National Science Foundation (NSF) Ocean Observatories Initiative Facility Board (OOIFB) provides independent input regarding the management and operation of the OOI to the NSF. The OOIFB works to expand scientific and public awareness of OOI, and ensure that the oceanographic community is kept informed of developments of OOI.

The OOIFB’s Terms of Reference is available here.

OOIFB Members

The OOIFB established the Data Systems Committee (DSC) to help ensure timely and reliable access to high-quality OOI data. The DSC evaluates and recommends improvements to the data services policies and practices of the OOI Facility that will lead to more efficient and effective scientific use of OOI data.

DSC Members

The DSC’s Terms of Service is available on page five of this document.

Science Oversight Committee

The Science Oversight Committee (SOC) provides program oversight on matters impacting science requirements, data delivery, and science user engagement. The OOI lead Principal Investigator chairs the committee.  Committee members include the principal investigators for the four Implementing Organizations (University of Washington, Oregon State University, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, and Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey). The National Science Foundation, Division of Ocean Sciences Program Officers and the Chair and Administrator of the Ocean Observatories Initiative Facility Board serve as ex officio members.

The SOC’s charter is available here.

Committee Members